Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

INST 402 Anthologically Possible: How to Edit a Bouquet (Research Tutorial)

Selected Library Sources in the Alderman Reference Room and on the Web

Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.

VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what the library owns, including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books that are checked out.

voyage of the beagle [begins with title for specific title]
john stuart mill and biography [keyword subject]
yeats and computer file [keyword to find electronic texts]
pater and (style or aesthet$) [keyword; finds aesthete, aesthetics, etc.]
hardy and poetry [keyword subject; about his poetry]
kipling and (dictionar$ or encyclopedia$) [keyword subject]

 

LITERATURE

Electronic Text Center http://etext.virginia.edu
Find the electronic full text of Bible, literary texts, etc.

The English Poetry Database (AD 600-1900) http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/epd.html

Oxford Companion to English Literature. PR19.D73 (Ref Desk)
A general handbook to people, places, themes, allusions.

William Butler Yeats Encyclopedia. PR5906.M44
An example of an author handbook.

Thomas Hardy Associationhttp://www.yale.edu/hardysoc/Welcome/welcomet.htm

John Stuart Mill Website. http://www.anova.org/jsmill.html

Lewis Carroll Home Page http://www.lewiscarroll.org/carroll.html

Edward Lear Home Page http://www2.pair.com/mgraz/Lear/index.html

Kipling Society. http://www.kipling.org.uk

English Web Resource Guide http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html
Good web resources for English study, and where you’ll find a copy of this guide under Library Guides.

 

DICTIONARIES

Oxford English Dictionary http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html
Most authoritative dictionary for English language. Based on historical principles.

BIOGRAPHY

Dictionary of National Biography. DA28.D4 1950
Authoritative signed lengthy scholarly articles on distinguished people.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. ( VIRGO Other Databases)
Tells you where you can find biographical information.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (PN466.D52) (Ald Ref)
Biographical bibliographical critical essays. Use the index at the back of the most recent volume to locate other authors.

Biography Resource Center. http://www.galenet.com/servlet/BioRC
Includes full-text sketches, articles, and portraits.

BIBLE

Bible http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/chbible.html
Full text of the bible. Can be searched word for word. Identify quotations.

Mercer Dictionary of the Bible. BS440.M429

Oxford Companion to the Bible. BS440.O7

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E36 (1910, 11th ed.) http://search.eb.com/

Oxford Classical Dictionary DE5.O9 (Ref Desk)

Encyclopedia of Philosophy. B41.E52 1967

Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/encyphil/

Dictionary of the History of Ideas. CB5.D52

Oxford Companion to British History. DA34.O93

Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia DA550.V53

Encyclopedia of the Victorian World. DA550.E53

London Encyclopedia. DA677.L85

1890’s: an Encyclopedia of British Literature, Art, and Culture. DA560.A18

Grove Dictionary of Art. http://www.groveart.com/

The Victorian Web http://landow.stg.brown.edu/victorian/victov.html

Covers literature, history, and culture. Check out Darwin, Carroll, Kipling, Beerbohm.

British History 1700-1950 http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/Britain.html
Information on Victorian monarchy, science, art, literature, etc.

The Darwin Page http://web.clas.ufl.edu/users/rhatch/05-DARWIN-PAGE.html

GEOGRAPHY AND CHRONOLOGY

Columbia Gazetteer of the World. G103.5.C65 (Ref Desk)

Oxford Dictionary of English Place Names. DA645.E38

The Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People And Events. D11.G78 (Ald Ref)



Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu January 2000

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide