ENMD 883 Prolegomena to Medieval Literary Research

A walk through the Alderman Reference Room

January 2003

 

At Ref Desk:

Phonebooks

World Guide to Libraries

MLA directory of periodicals

 

In Ref Room:

Encyclopedias, e.g. Encyclopedia Britannica 11th ed. (current version on web)

MLA – older volumes

Book Reviews – Index Table 2

Essay and General Literature Index

Symbols -AZ

Encyc. of Philosophy B41  (Routledge on Web)

Mythology BL25

Encyc. of Religion BL31

Mythology BL303

Patristic writing –BR60

Patrologia Latina ‑‑ Index BR60.M4

Encyc. of the Early Church BR66.5

Patrology.  Quasten.  BR67

Bibles, Bible Dictionaries, Commentaries, Concordances -- BS

Christian symbols BV150.C53

Church symbols

Clavis patrum latinorum (Sacris Erudiri) BX800

        -Key to Latin writings of the Church fathers that have appeared in Collections and periodicals

New Catholic Ency. BX841

Medieval Religious Houses BX2592

Hierarchia catholica medii aevi BX 4651.E82  Chronological lists of popes, cardinals, bishops.

Catholic Church Clergy

Books of Saints BX4655

Record Interpreter CD1041.R42  collection of abbreviations, Latin words and names used in English Historical mss. and records

Calendar – Cappelli CE11  Christian (and other) calendar systems; historical chronology of Roman times.

Numismatics CJ

Heraldry CR

Dictionary of Medieval Knighthood & Chivalry CR 4505

Peerages CS

Biographical sets CT

Annotated index of Medieval Women CT3220

Lexikon des Mittelalters D101.5 ‑signed contributions by international scholars; persons, places, terms;  bibliographies

Dictionary of the Middle Ages D114

Tresor de chronologie d'histoire et de geographie pour l’etude et l'emploi des documents du moyen age D114.ml39

            ‑perpetual calendars, hist. chronologies, lists of saints, fathers of the church, popes, cardinals, bishops, archbishops, rulers, etc.

International Directory of Medievalists  D116

von Caenegem. Guide to the sources of medieval history. D117.c2213

Chronology of the Medieval World. D118

Royal Historical Society. Texts & Calendars: sources for the history of England & Wales. DA20

Rerum. DA25  materials relating to the history of Great Britain and Ireland

Dictionary of National Biography DA28

Book of Days DA110.C515  miscellany of popular antiquities; calendar, anecdotes, biography, curiosities.

New Arthurian Encyclopedia DA152.5

 

Reallexikon der germanischen altertumskunde, unter mitwirkung zahlreicher fachgelehrten.  DD51

            -Hoops.  Dictionary of Germanic antiquities.

Antiquities/Classics DE

Pauly DE5 standard scholarly German work; classical literature, history, antiquity, biography.

Orbis Latinis – G107  Medieval Latin Place names with modern equivalents,

Historical Atlases G

Folklore

Mythology

Symbols

Thompson. Motif‑Index of folk‑literature. GR67 classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, medieval romances

Fairies, Bestiaries, Feasts & Festivals

Music M

Art N

Iconography

McGuire. Introd. to Medieval Latin Studies PA 2816.M24

Medieval latin dictionaries PA2891

Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources.  Latin Language used in Britain 550-1550.  Indispensable.  PA2891

Du Cange. Glossarium. mediae et infirmae latinitatis.  PA2927

Godefroy. Dictionaire de l’ancienne langue francaise.. PC2889.G6   9th-15th cent.

Tobler.  Altfranzosisches worterbuch.  Up to 1500.  PC2893

YWES PE 58

Plan for the Dictionary of Old English.  PE273.  Lists mss. & editions upon which dictionary is based.

Anglo Saxon Dictionary, based on the manuscript collections of Joseph Bosworth.  PE279. – most complete available.

Thesaurus of Old English.  PE279

Middle English Dict. -- web

Oxford English Dict. -- web

Classical and Medieval Literature criticism PN610

Fisher. Medieval literature of Western Europe. PN 671 .F5  medieval & romance writers; classical & medieval lit. crit.

Dict. of Medieval Romance & Romance writers

Marcuse. Reference Guide for English Studies. PR56 M37

Chaucer and the 15th century.  PR83

Bennett.  Middle English Literature.  PR83

Severs. Manual of the writings in Middle English 1050‑1500 PR255.S4  individual vols. treat genres, e.g. vol. 1 is romances; 1st pt. describes texts, e.g. Gawain ; 2nd pt. Bibliog. for each work: mss, eds, date, authorship, literary                 criticism, etc.

Concordance to the Anglo-Saxon Poetic Records.  PR1506

Chaucer dictionaries PR1903

Concordance to 5 Middle English poems

Chaucer concordances PR1941

Cappelli. Dizionario di abbreviature latine ed italiane Z111.C24 latin & italian abbreviations and signs used in mss.

British Library Catalogue. Z921 --web

Catalogue de la Bibliotheque Nationale. Z927  --web

Besterman. World Bibliography of Bibliographies Z1002

Bibliographic Index Z1002.B595

Microforms in Print Z1033

Balay. Guide to Reference Books. Z1035

Walford. Guide to Reference Material.

Medioevo Latino. Z2000 bollettino bibliografico della cultura europea dal secolo 6th‑15th; annual bibliography of primary and secondary sources in all subjects; excellent source.

Harner. Literary Research Guide. Z2011.H34

ABEL Z2011.M69 --web

New CBEL Z2011.N45

Bale. Index Britanniae scriptorum. Z2012.B19

Index of Middle Index Verse. Z2012.B86 and suppl.

Bibliography of Publications on Old English Literature.  Z2012.G83 works publ. Between 15th cent.and 1972.

Annotated Bibliography of writings on the Gawain Poet. Z2014.P7 and others

Old & Middle English poetry to 1500: a guide to information sources.Z2014.P71

Late Medieval England 1377-1485. Z2017.G87

High Middle Ages in England, 1154‑1377. Z2017.W54

Crosby/Kellog. Medieval studies: a bibliographical guide. Z5579.5.C76

Arts & Humanities Citation Index --web

Fairy Tale Index Z5983.F17

Chevalier. Repertoire des sources historiques du Moyen Age. Z6203.C53                                                                        si     '__'

            ‑v. 1 Biobibliographie, e.g. Chaucer

            ‑v. 2 Topobibliographie ‑‑ places & things, e.g. Paris, Parliament

            ‑secondary sources, non‑evaluative.

International Medieval Bibliographie. Z6203.I5 –covers the whole range of medieval studies. (web 1967-present)

Paetow. Guide to the Study of Medieval History. Z6203.P25 ‑long to be considered to be the basic guide in the f ield, altho’ many of the sources are out of date ‑secondary and original sources

Boyce. Literature of Medieval History. Z6203.P25  Suppl. to Paetow

Potthast. Bibliotheca historia medii aevi. Z6203.P87 ‑1. Classification of primary sources of medieval history: annals, chronicles ‑2. List of authors (historical) & their works with lists of mss., editions, translations, commentaries.

Repertorium. Fontium. Historiae Medii... Z6203.R427 ‑new Potthast ‑1. sets of chronicles & their contents, many new since Potthast appeared ‑2. repertory of medieval writings arranged by author (not just historical, but literature as well). ‑references to mss., translations, facsimiles, editions, commentaries.

Serial bibliographies for Medieval studies. Z6203.R66 ‑annotated listing: nat'l bibliographies, periodicals, annuals.

Index of Medieval Studies in Festschriften. Z6203.W5

Bibliography of English Translations from Medieval sources. Z6517.F3

Kaske. Medieval Christian Literary Imagery. Z6517.k37  help in interpreting med. lit. ‑suggests research methods on topics, e.g. biblical exegesis, hymns, mythography, & major authors.

International Directory of Mss Collections. Z6602

Catalog of Mss. containing Anglosaxon. Z6605.A5K4 more than 400 mss written before 1200.

Index of Middle English Prose. Z6605.E45036 (Oxford)

Samaran. Catalogue des manuscrits en écriture latine portant des indications de date  Z6605.L3

Catalogue of Mss. containing Middle English Romances. Z6611.L7

Medieval Mss. in British Libraries. Z6620.G7K4

Watson. Catalogue of dated and datable mss. in Oxford Library Z6620.G7W37 ‑entry gives collection no., date, place of origin, author and title, phys. description, history of ownership, other mss. of the scribe, etc.

NUC Mss. Z6620.U5I53 – web see Archives USA

Census of Medieval Mss. in U.S. Z6620.U5R5

Index of Middle Engllish Prose. Z6621

            ‑locate & identify all m.e. printed and mss. prose text 1200‑1500

            ‑1st line, title, editions, mss.

            index of implicits & explicits

Index of Mss. in the British Library Z6621.B837

Watson. Catalogue of dated and datable mss. in the British Library  same kind of stuff as above.

Catalogue of Romances in the Dept. of Mss. in the Bristish Museum. Z6621.B87R7

Catalogue of the Medieval Mss. in the Lambeth Pl. Library. Z6621

L'Anne Philologique. Z7016.A5 standard index for classical studies; also indexes current scholarship in medieval latin; two sections: authors, and classified arrangement; periodical articles, books, dissertations.  (web 1974-89)

Catalogus translationum et commentariorum. Z7016.K96 ‑medieval & renaissance Latin translations and commentaries on Latin and Greek writers ‑annotated lists and guides.

Bibliotheca lexicologiae medii aevi. Z7028.L47 ‑publications from all time periods that relate to the use and study of Latin in the Middle Ages.

Romanische Bibliographie. Z7032.R6 ‑significant current bibliographie lisiting books and periodical articles on the language and literature of the various Romance Languages.

Stegmuller. Repertorium Biblicum Mediiaevi. Z7770.S835 ‑great bibliographical tool for medieval biblical exegesis

v.1 basic bibliographical info. on the Bible, apocrypha, prologues ‑v.2.5 catalogue of biblical commentaries arranged by author; entries include bio, bibl.,implicits, explicits, eds.,mss/ ‑v. 6‑7 anonymous commentaries, arr. alphabetically by city where the mss. is preserved. ‑v.8‑11 suplements ‑v.12 to be index by books of the bible.

Clavis Patrum Latinorum.  1995.  Z7791.D45

Schneyer. Repertorium der lateinischen Sermones des MittleAlters. Z7847 ‑1150‑1350 ‑for the immense corpus of latin sermons, this is the best research tool. ‑v.1‑5 catalog of sermons arr. alpha by author. ‑v.6‑7 catalog of sermons of universities, religious orders, on scriptures, ‑‑v.8‑4 catalog of anonymous sermons, identified by incipits

Women's studies

Bibliography of Chaucer, and others.Z8164.G95 1967

National Union Catalog Z881

           – all pre 1963 holdings of Library of Congress and 1000’s of other research libraries.

 

Karen Kates Marshall * 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu * Alderman511 (5th fl. West)*January 2003