ENMD 883 Prolegomena to Medieval Literary Research
Electronic Sources
University of Virginia
Library
1.Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links
to VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.
2.VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find
what the library owns, including electronic materials. Use
"Databases" to find journal
and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and
recall books that are checked out.
3.English Web Resource Guide http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/index.html
Web
resources for English study, and where there’s a copy of this guide under
Library Guides.
4.Electronic Text Center http://etext.virginia.edu
Find
the electronic full text of Bible, literary texts, etc. You can browse/read the whole text or
search it word for word by selecting “search all the texts” at the
top of the screen.
a.The Middle English Collection
b.The Old English Corpus
c.The
English Poetry Database (AD 600-1900)
d.The English Verse Drama Database (AD 1300-1900)
e.Patrologia Latina
Covers the works of the Latin Fathers from
Tertullian around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Covers most
major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late
ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature. The
Patrologia Latina Database is the full-text electronic version of the Patrologia
Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical
apparatus, indexes, and illustrations.
f.Cetedoc Library of Christian Latin texts (Corpus
Christianorum; supplants PL) (in progress) (etext center)
5.MLA International
Bibliography, 1964- (VIRGO
Databases)
Literature,
languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals and series
published worldwide. Updated quarterly.
6.Annual Bibliography of
English Language and Literature, 1920- (VIRGO
Databases)
Monographs,
periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews,
collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the
world. There is surprisingly little duplication with the MLA Bibliography.
7.International Medieval
Bibliography, 1968- (VIRGO Databases)
This
standard bibliography of the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500) indexes over
300,000 articles from 4,000 journals in a wide variety of disciplines. It also
indexes books that are collections of articles. Click the blue Enter Databases button to start and
choose the IMB from the menu on the next page.
8.Arts & Humanities
Citation Index. (AHCI), 1975- (VIRGO
Databases)
1987-present
are included in Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Indexes for 1975-1986
must be used separately. 1975-86 indexes require special software, see instructions for new
users. Citation index covers 1300 arts and humanities journals and related
articles from 5800 social science and science journals. Includes book reviews.
9.L'Année Philologique, 1969- (VIRGO
Databases)
Indexes the articles on the literature,
languages, and history of ancient Greece and Rome from some 1500 journals and
500 book collections and conference proceedings. Coverage in the online version
begins with 1969 and goes up to 2-3 years before the current year. Covers citations of all known scholarly work published in
any language anywhere in the world concerning the areas of ancient Greek and
Latin language, linguistics, history, literature, philosophy, numismatics,
papyrology and epigraphy, and for the
period from the second millennium B.C. to 500-800AD. Monographs, editions of ancient texts, articles in journals and
books, dissertations, book reviews, abstracts.
10.Religion Index, 1949- (VIRGO
Databases)
Now ATLAS
Full Text Plus. The ATLA
Religion Database provides international coverage on all aspects of
religious studies and includes essay and book review citations. This version
adds the full text of many journal articles. Updated quarterly.
11.Philosopher's Index 1940- (VIRGO
Databases)
Provides
indexing and abstracting from books and over 300 journals of philosophy and related
disciplines. Covers the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic,
metaphysics, and the philosophy of disciplines such as education, history, law,
religion, and science. Updated quarterly.
12.Dissertation Abstracts,
1861- (VIRGO Databases)
Dissertations
accepted at US and institutions with some Canadian, British, and other European
dissertations. Abstracts begin July, 1980.
13.Periodicals Contents Index,
1770- (VIRGO Databases)
Contents
of over 3000 international humanities and social science journals published
1770-1991. Includes links to full text of articles in some 300 journals
including humanities and social science titles from JSTOR.
14.In Principio; incipit index
of Latin texts/manuscripts. (CDROM)
(Ref Desk).
Based
on the 400,000 incipits (the first words of a particular work), from the
cardfiles of the Latin Section of the Institut de recherche et d'histoire des
textes, covering ancient, patristic, medieval and humanist Latin
literature. For each incipit,
references are given to the author's name and title of the work, the manuscript
or manuscripts which contain the text, and bibliographical references. The
records are fully searchable. Over
100,000 incipits will be added each year, coming from a variety of scholarly
sources, thus building a database which will contain one million incipits
before the end of this century.
15.Index Translationum http://www.unesco.org/culture/xtrans/
Contains bibliographic reference of translated books published in approximately 100 counties recorded by UNESCO since 1979.
16.Motif Index of Folk
Literature. (CDROM) (RefDesk)
Classification
of narrative elements in folk tales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval
romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends; ed. Stith Thompson.
17.Iter Italicum : a database
of uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance
in Italian and other libraries. (CDROM)
(RefDesk)
18.Middle English Compendium .
http://www.hti.umich.edu/mec/
Access
to the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose
and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of
electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts.
19.Oxford English Dictionary http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html
Most
authoritative dictionary for English language. Based on historical principles.
20.Encyclopedia Britannica. http://search.eb.com/
21.Routledge encyclopedia of
philosophy http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/encyphil/
22.Grove Dictionary of Art. http://www.groveart.com/
23.New Grove dictionary of
music and musicians. http://www.grovemusic.com/index.html
24.OCLC WorldCat (VIRGO Databases)
25.RLIN Research Libraries
Network (VIRGO Databases)
26.Library of Congress
Catalog. http://www.lcweb.loc.gov/catalog/
27. British Library. General Catalogue
of Printed Books to 1975. (VIRGO
Databases)
28.Bibliotheque Nationale.
Catalogue General. http://gallica.bnf.fr
29.Dictionary of Literary
Biography (VIRGO Databases)
Traces the lives
and careers of selected authors, critics, screenwriters, journalists, scholars,
and publishers from all eras and genres, summarizing critical response to their
work and their role within literary movements. Based on the print set by the
same name which organizes its volumes around genres, movements, periods, and
countries, the online version allows full browsing and searching of the entire
set.
30.Biography and Genealogy
Master Index. (VIRGO Databases)
Tells
you where you can find biographical information. Good for harder to find subjects.
ACCESSING
UVA DATABASES FROM OFF-GROUNDS
To
access all of the databases we looked at today, plus more, from off grounds or
when away from Charlottesville, set up a proxy server account. This is very easy to do. For instructions see: http://www.itc.virginia.edu/desktop/proxy/
Karen Kates
Marshall * kmarshall@virginia.edu * 982-2677*Alderman Library 511
* February 2003