Introduction
to RefWorks Chris Ruotolo
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/guides/refworks.html 434-982-2652
Logging in
Go
to the RefWorks homepage: http://www.refworks.com
•
From Off-Grounds,
you must connect via the proxy
server or UVaAnywhere,
•
Disable any popup
blockers
Click
on User Login (top of the screen)
•
To create a new
account, click “Sign up for
an Individual Account” and follow the instructions
•
To log in to an
existing account, enter username and password
Importing citations into RefWorks
1).
Direct Export
•
From a marked
list of citations, select option to export directly into RefWorks
•
Use with:
Project Muse, WorldCat, ABELL, PCI
2).
Using Find@UVa
•
Select an
individual citation and click Find@UVA button; from the resulting page, select
“Export this citation to RefWorks”
•
Use with:
MLA Bibliography, all InfoTrac databases
3).
Saving and Importing Using a Filter
•
Export citations
to a plain text file
•
In RefWorks, go
to References => Import
•
Select the
appropriate import filter for your database
•
Specify a text
file to be imported, or cut and paste citations directly into the text box
•
Use with:
VIRGO
4).
Manually
•
References =>
Add New Reference
Organizing your citations
To
view all citations:
View => All References
To
create a new folder:
Folders => Create Folder;
enter a name and click OK
To
add citations to a folder:
Select
citations using check boxes, then use the pull-down
“Put in Folder...” menu to choose the correct folder
To
weed out duplicate citations:
View
=> Duplicates, then select either “Exact Match” or “Close Match”. Review the list, select duplicate citations,
and delete
Creating a stand-alone bibliography
•
Click Bibliography
button
•
Select output
format (e.g., MLA 6th ed.)
•
Select “Format a
Bibliography from a List of References”
•
Choose
appropriate folder
•
Click “Create
Bibliography”; should download automatically
Using Write-N-Cite to add citations to Word documents
•
Download the
Write-N-Cite tool by selecting Tools=>Write-N-Cite or by clicking here
•
Launch
Write-N-Cite from the desktop icon or the Tools menu in Microsoft Word
•
To add an in-text
parenthetical citation:
1.
Click your cursor
at the appropriate point in the Word document
2.
In the
Write-N-Cite window, click the “cite” link that corresponds to the citation you
want. A citation code will be added into
your Word document.
•
To add a footnote
or endnote:
1.
Click your cursor
at the appropriate point in the Word document
2.
Insert a note by
selecting Insert => Reference => Footnote from the Word toolbar.
3.
Click your cursor
after the footnote/endnote marker at the foot of the page or the end of the
document
4.
In the
Write-N-Cite window, click the “cite” link that corresponds to the citation you
want. A citation code will be added into
your Word document.
•
To format your
finished paper:
1.
Save your Word
document
2.
Click the
Bibliography button in the Write-N-Cite window
3.
Select output
format (e.g., MLA 6th ed.)
4.
Click “Create
Bibliography”. A second version of your
Word document will open, with all in-text citations, footnotes, and endnotes
correctly formatted and a Works Cited list appended.
5.
Save the new
document
Fine-tuning your in-text citations
You
can add switches to the citation codes that RefWorks inserts to customize the
output. Examples:
|
Switch |
Effect |
Code |
Result |
|
/s |
specify
page range |
{{1 Doe,John 2005/s 77; }} |
(Doe 77) |
|
/p |
add
preceding text |
{{1 Doe,John 2003/s 77 /psee; }} |
(see
Doe 77) |
|
/y |
suppress
year |
{{1 Doe,John 2005/y; }} |
(Doe) |
|
/a |
suppress
author |
{{1 Doe,John 2005/a; }} |
(2005) |
Creating a custom output style
•
Click the
Bibliography button and then the New button (to the right of the Output Style
menu)
•
From the
pull-down menu at the top of the screen, select an existing style to modify
•
Give your style a
new name and click “Save As”
•
For each
reference type, modify the style as desired by adding or removing fields
•
Use the Preview
at the bottom of the screen to see an example of the custom style
•
Save when done,
and the custom style will appear in red in the list of citation styles
•
Click here for more
detailed information
Other RefWorks resources
RefWorks Tutorial: http://www.refworks.com/tutorial/
Quick
Start Guide: http://www.refworks.com/refworks/help/Refworks.htm#QuickStartGuide.pdf
FAQ:
https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/help/Frequently_Asked_Questions.htm
– last updated