Databases  | Purchase Requests  | Religious Studies Department | User Education | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

Religious Studies Resources

Co-Librarian for Religious Studies
(Western traditions including materials for Christianity and Judaism)
Co-Librarian for Religious Studies
(Eastern traditions including materials for Tibetan Buddhism and Islam)
George Crafts
Office: 509 Alderman Library
Phone: 924-4984
email: gtc@virginia.edu
Send suggestions
  Philip McEldowney
Office: 507 Alderman Library
Phone: 924-4987
email: pm9k@virginia.edu
Send suggestions

General Resources

Internet Guide to Religion From Wabash - a selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources, including electronic texts, electronic journals, websites, bibliographies, and listserv discussion groups.

Virtual Religion Index. From Rutgers University. Lots of annotated links; topics related to Religion also.

Facets of Religion: Virtual Library--Religion. Lots of links to the main world religions, as well as links to ancient religious relics, new pagans, and newsgroups.

Yahoo: Religion and Spirituality. A popular index with many links; has a convenient search form.

American Academy of Religion This homepage includes information about the Academy's meetings and publications, a membership directory, and employment information services.


Specific Religious Traditions

African Religion

University of Pennsylvania African Studies Center
This site has links to a large number of African Studies electronic resources, including country-specific pages, internet resources, multimedia archives, and news from the African Studies Association.

Bible Resources

Review of Biblical Literature. One of the most comprehensive reviews of monographic literature in the field of biblical and related studies as well as reference works, commentaries, dictionaries, and biblical translations. Especially see its book reviews; covers from 1996 to the present.

ECanon
This XML database of canonical texts has searchable versions of the Bible, including KJV, RSV, and NRSV.

The Unbound Bible
A large collection of searchable Bibles, including seven English versions, Hebrew Bible, transliterated Hebrew, four Greek versions of the New Testament, the Septuagint, and the Vulgate.

Society of Biblical Literature
The Society's homepage includes information on its meetings and publications, a directory of members, and job listings.

Buddhism and Tibetan Buddhism

Buddhist Studies-WWW Virtual Library

Journal of Buddhist Ethics - Global Resources for Buddhist Studies

Tibetan Buddhism - University of Virginia Library || Fall 1998 Tibetan Resources page

Some Tibetan links

The Tibetan Collection at the University of Virginia Library

Christianity

Christian Theology Page
This useful page is a gateway to societies, academic departments, seminaries, publishers, journals, libraries, and the works of certain theologians on the Web.

Catholic Resources on the Net
This page offers access to a number of Roman Catholic electronic resources including official church documents, papal writings, Catholic organizations, and individual Catholics on the Net.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
A large collection of Christian texts from the beginnings of Christianity to the present century, all full text and in English. The entire database can be searched by keywords or subject terms.

The Fathers of the Church
A very extensive collection of texts in English translation of the Church Fathers made available by the New Advent Catholic Website.

Patrologia Latina Database
Migne's classic collection of the Latin Fathers of the Church. Available to University of Virginia users only.

Hinduism

Hinduism - Religious Studies

The Hindu Universe - Scriptures

Islam

Islamic Studies

Judaism

Judaism and Jewish Resources
A huge collection of links to a wide variety of sources. Besides Web and Gopher sites, electronic mailing lists, and FTP archives, categories of links include Jewish organizations, libraries, calendar information, and sites in Israel.

The Jewish History Resource Center
Sponsored by the Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, this site has links to a large number of sites concerned with Jewish history, plus conference information, grant information, syllabi, bibliographies, news groups, and much more.

Ioudaios Review
A site that archives contributions to the electronic discussion list IOUDAIOS-L and the electronic book review list IOUDAIOS REVIEW. Both the lists are concerned with the study of early Judaism.


Religious Studies Department

Department of Religious Studies at the University of Virginia

RS Faculty

Syllabus of Courses, including for Spring 1999 and for 1998

RS Links to Religion Resources on the World Wide Web

Instructional Pages

Web Instruction for the Religious Studies Department. Instruction 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, Clement course (Jan. 1999), 1998 Draft and January 1996 draft

Library Short Courses

 

Please feel free to make any suggestions that you feel will enhance the usefulness of this page.

 

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400111
Charlottesville VA 22904-4111
phone: 434.924.7261   fax: 434.924.1431

Subject Guides Home  UVa Library Home  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Philip McEldowney
Last Modified: Thursday, January 31, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page